English Premier League Games

The Premier League is the professional league for men’s association football clubs in England.

In the world of sports, there are many tournaments and competitions that sports fans are tuning in to. A lot of these games are local and are very popular. However, the English Premier League Games are, we can say, in a league of its own. With an audience of 643 million viewers spread across 212 territories and an average match attendance of more than 35,000 people, it is safe to say that the English Premier League Games are a holiday for all the sports enthusiasts across the globe.

What is the English Premier League?

The Premier League, as it is also called, is the professional league for association football clubs in England. Running as the country’s primary and most popular football competition, it is held for 20 clubs that operate through a system of promotion and relegation with The Football League. In the Premier League, these 20 clubs also act as shareholders.

English Premier League seasons are held from August to May. In every season, there are a total of 380 games, making Premier League fans happy for increasing the chances of them watching a game or two. Every team plays 38 matches each to complete the season. As customary, most of these games are held on weekends, with only a few held on weekday nights.

Brief History of the Premier League

Before it was known as the Premier League, it was first established and known as the Premiership back in 1993 until 2007. Presently, it is sponsored by Barclays Bank, making it officially known as the Barclays Premier League.

The Barclays Premier League was first formed on February 20, 1992 as the FA Premier League. Clubs in the Football League First Division decided to be independent from The Football League to take advantage of a deal including lucrative television rights. It was worth £2 billion at the time.

The Premier League Today

Today, Premier League is undoubtedly the most-watched and awaited football league in the world. It has ranked first in the coefficients of leagues by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) based on the performances in European competitions for the past 5 years.

A total of 23 clubs have been named and crowned as champions of the English football system since 1888. Since 1992, the year of the inception of the Premier Leagues, 5 out of the 45 clubs which have competed have won the title. These champions are the Manchester United, having 12 titles, Arsenal with 3 titles, Chelsea with 3, Blackburn Rovers with 1 and Manchester City with 1 title. In last year’s season, 2011-12, Manchester City bagged the title.